National Depression Awareness Month – Day 1

October 1, 2012

October is National Depression Awareness Month.

I’ve dealt with depression for most of my life. I used to be embarrassed to admit it. It seemed like weakness or a lack of faith. After all, the Bible said, “be joyful always.” I couldn’t even muster “joyful sometimes.” How could I be hopeless when I served the “God of all hope?” I felt guilty for being depressed… That doesn’t actually help.

In the fall of 2008, it got so bad, I decided that getting help was more important than appearing strong. I worried that it would ruin my career, but then again so would wanting to die all of the time. Just making a counseling appointment seemed so daunting. Everything is too hard when you’re depressed. Because of the insistence of my best friend, I finally managed to call Military One Source and make an appointment…

(I plan on writing a few posts about depression. This is the first partial installment. It’s not the polished writing I used to put out… Just me tapping on my iPhone to what’s left of my loyal readership after all of these years of neglect.)

One Response to “National Depression Awareness Month – Day 1”


  1. [...] « National Depression Awareness Month – Day 1 [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

