One more week – Comfortable Boots

February 9, 2007

By Amy on Chaplaincy

In one week I will leave Ft. Jackson. Because I’m a Chaplain Candidate at the beginning of my seminary experience, I am only allowed to complete half of CH-BOLC now. Many of us are leaving. But many of my classmates will stay for six more weeks. I hate that I have to leave them; that I won’t get to graduate with MY class. I won’t return for a few years. I’m glad I’ll get to meet an entirely different group of future Chaplains, but I wonder if it will be so easy to bond with my next class without going through Initial Military Training together.

Of course I look forward to going home and seeing my children and friends. But the idea of taking off my uniform and putting it in the back of my closet for so long… that hurts. I love the uniform. I love what it stands for. And I love my brothers and sisters who wear it along side me.

You see, my Army uniform is comfortable. I know I’ve complained that my combat boots don’t fit and my ACU pants are too big… but The Uniform fits. The Boots ARE comfortable. They’re comfortable because I know, “This is what I should be wearing.” “This is what I should be doing.” “This is who I want to be.” No matter how difficult the road, when you know you’re going the right direction… your boots are more comfortable.

2 Responses to “One more week – Comfortable Boots”

  1. Hillery Says:

    You have no idea how happy I am to hear you say that. I have enjoyed watching you as you came into this new role and loved it. I have loved watching how God took all the dreams He gave you, rolled them into one and handed them back to you in the perfect size. I know it has been hard, and it is far from over, but you are so perfect for the job! I enjoy bragging about you and mainly what God has done for you.

    Now I just need God’s help to figure out what I am supposed to do! ha!

  2. describes it Says:

    My relatives every time say that I am killing my time here at net,
    except I know I am getting know-how every day by reading thes nice posts.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

